It’s not often that I write reviews of Disney movies, but being such a big fan of the original cartoon adaptation of Beauty and the Beast, and having looked forward to the live-action version, I thought this would be a good opportunity.

Like I mentioned already, I’m a huge fan of the original cartoon version of Beauty and the Beast. I also enjoy the Beauty and the Beast show at Disney’s Hollywood Studios.

When I heard they were making a live-action version, I was a little skeptical. I’m honestly not the biggest fan of them remaking movies. I didn’t really like Jungle Book or Pete’s Dragon and didn’t even bother watching Cinderella.

But I like Beauty and the Beast and I thought the casting for the live-action movie was interesting, so the closer it came to release date, the more excited I got.

Well, recently we had a chance to go watch the movie and I honestly came away with mixed reviews.

Again, from a positive standpoint, I thought casting was great. Emma Watson was a great Belle and Josh Gad brought LeFou to life.

Overall, the imagery was great. I thought how they recreated the scenes from the cartoon felt very authentic.

For the most part, they stuck to the story with a few exceptions, but nothing that would completely distract you from the original story.

My biggest issue, sadly enough, was with the music. I understand it’s a live-action version and that it will have its own pacing and whatnot, but I thought the songs were slower than the original.

I felt like the rhythm wasn’t there.

I did like the opening scene and thought the song was close to the original, and I thought the highlight was Josh Gad’s performance of “Gaston.”

I didn’t like the new songs. Some of them felt very forced.

Of course, a lot of that could be because I’m a traditionalist and don’t really like it when they mess with classics.

Like I told my wife several times during the movie, if they had never made a cartoon version of Beauty and the Beast, I probably would have loved it.

But being that there was a specific piece of work that they were trying to copy, I felt like it fell a little flat.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the movie. And I’ll probably watch it again, but it had a long way to go to catch up to the original, in my humble opinion.

Out of five stars, I’d give it a solid 3.5 And I’d recommend if you haven’t seen the cartoon version of Beauty and the Beast, watch the live-action version first, then watch the cartoon.

So, what was your take on the new Beauty and the Beast movie? How did you rate it? What did you think of it compared to its original version?

Leave a comment below and let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading and remember to always let your conscience be your guide.

 

