As I write this, it’s been nearly a year since I last visited Disney World.

I realize a year is nothing compared to some breaks between trips, but when we moved to Florida a few years ago we bought annual passes and were visiting Disney 2-3 times a year on average.

Last year, we made the decision to not renew our annual passes, for a couple of reasons. The first one was that the kids were starting to get tired of Disney. I know, right?! But considering Kaleb had been to Disney 12 times and Logan had been nine times, each trip was starting to feel more and more like the last trip. So, we decided to take a break.

Second reason was to save a little money, to be honest. We knew with football season and then basketball and baseball that our opportunities to visit Disney would be limited, so instead of wasting money on a pass that we wouldn’t be able to use, we let it expire.

Now, guess who’s going through Disney withdrawals? If you guessed me, you’re correct. If you guessed our boys, you’re also correct. LOL, it seems as though nearly a year is enough to make the heart grow fonder.

Not to mention, our last trip to Disney left a bad taste in our mouths. It was a good trip, right up until the end. On our last night at Disney, I started to feel light-headed and having chest pains while we were eating dinner.

An ambulance ride to the hospital and 24 hours of undergoing a million tests and monitoring, they couldn’t find anything wrong with me other than a severe case of dehydration.

Needless to say, our last day at Disney never happened. We were planning on going to Animal Kingdom to see my favorite show (Festival of the Lion King) and experience the awesomeness of all the animals.

Instead, my boys got a chance to swim that morning with their Mammy while Timberly washed clothes and packed up. I was released from the hospital around 6 p.m. and we made the drive home, happy that I was OK but sad that we didn’t get to fully experience Disney.

We decided to forgo our annual June trip to Disney and went to Pigeon Forge instead. And the kids loved that trip, but the comment was made quite a few times that it was fun, but it “wasn’t Disney.”

So, as we approach the summer, we’ve been talking about going to Disney again in June. Of course, it’s still just “talks” right now because there’s that whole issue of me not having a job, which kind of throws a wrench in our plans. LOL

But it hasn’t stopped me from pricing several trip options for us. And it hasn’t stopped me from coming up with mock touring plans, just in case.

It’s just my way of dealing with the withdrawals. That and watching all my clients enjoy their Mardi Gras trips. I like getting those reports back, telling me what they liked and what they didn’t like.

So, how do you deal with Disney withdrawals? Do you look at old pictures? Do you listen to Disney music? Do you do like Kaleb and you watch YouTube videos of your favorite rides/attractions? Do you re-create Disney meals?

What’s your coping mechanism for dealing with the countdown to your next trip?

Thanks for reading and remember if you’re going to Disney World, or planning on taking a cruise on Carnival or Disney Cruise line, as well as trips to Universal Studios, I’m your guy. You can message me at FTJBrady@gmail.com to begin planning your next trip!

Have a great day and remember to always let your conscience be your guide.

 

