I got this idea from a Lou Mongello podcast some few years back when he did a Top 10 on his favorite smells in all of Disney World. A lot of his smells are my favorites, as well, so be forewarned that we’ll have some duplicates if you’ve heard that podcast.

But my smells are for different reasons, so I think it’ll be unique enough. So, with any further adieu, I give you my Top 5 smells in Disney World (some are gone, as we remember them, unfortunately).

5. The Fall of Rome scene in Spaceship Earth

Spaceship Earth is one of my favorite attractions at Epcot. A lot of people might find it boring because it’s about communication and nothing jumps out at you and scares you. But as someone who spent 20 years in the communication business, I find it fascinating. One of my favorite scenes also happens to have one of my favorite smells. When you turn the corner and you see the smoldering ruins of Rome and then that smell hits you, it becomes real. I love that smell. It’s so authentic and I love how it doesn’t hit you until you hit that scene. So many attractions you can smell it coming or it lingers in the car, but the burning of Rome is unique to that one scene.

4. Hoop Dee Do Musical Revue food being delivered

If you’ve never done Hoop Dee Do, you owe it to yourself to put it on the list for your next trip. Yes, it’s cheesy. Yes, the jokes are so punny. But a better time can not be had in Disney World. I love the show. But as a big guy with a big appetite, my favorite part is when the kitchen doors bust open and that smell of fried chicken, ribs, cornbread hits your table. It turns some people off, as my wife would attest. But I love it. It signals the beginning of a fantastic feast!

3. Orange groves in Soarin’

Unfortunately, I haven’t ridden the new Soarin’ yet, so I don’t know firsthand what the new smells are like, but one of my favorites from Soarin was always flying over the orange groves. Like Spaceship Earth’s fall of Rome, the smell is perfectly timed, as is the pine tree scene. It’s a memorable smell for me because it’s one of the first rides my dad rode when we visited Disney World and he yelled out during the ride, Oh I can smell the oranges!

2. The water

Some people will read that and be like, what the hell is wrong with you Brady? But I’m telling you, there’s something about the smell of the water in Disney World that is just uniquely Disney. Whether it’s on Pirates of the Caribbean or It’s A Small World, or while taking a shower at Fort Wilderness, I long for that smell of the water there.

My wife thinks I’m a weirdo because one of my absolute favorite memories is staying at the cabins in Fort Wilderness and enjoying the smell of the water while I take a shower. It’s got that burned match smell, it reminds me of when we were young and had a gas heater at my grandmother’s house.

Now, I wouldn’t dare swim in any of the water on any of the rides at Disney, or any of the damn lakes, but I love that smell.

1.Popcorn on Main Street (and all the other Main Street smells)

There’s popcorn everywhere in Disney World. But there’s nothing like walking down Main Street USA and having that scent of popcorn grab you by the nostrils and point you directly to the nearest popcorn cart. We have so many of the souvenir popcorn buckets that my wife made me stop getting them.

In addition to the popcorn, there are so many smells on Main Street USA that it really does bring me back to the time when you’d walk down your own Main Street in your hometown and smell the bakery making the goods of the day, or the candy shop throwing out that scent of peppermint or cinnamon to entice you inside.

Main Street has a way of pushing all of your senses, but the smells transform you into a whole new world.

So, that’s my list. What’s on your list? Anything I left off? Which smells on my list remind you of a specific trip or memory?

Comment below, or email me at FTJBrady@gmail.com. Thanks for reading and thanks for subscribing.

 

