I quit my job on a Friday.

Anybody that knows the profession knows quitting on a Friday in October is not good.

We were facing a full slate of high school football games, as well as an Ice Flyers hockey game.

It was definitely not my plan to leave my staff high and dry on a Friday night. But based on my conversation with my supervisor, I knew I had no other choice.

Only a few people know why I quit. I haven’t gone on social media and told the story, because I honestly wanted to just put that part of my life behind me.

But recently my old job opening was posted and I figured it was a good time to clear the air.

Basically, the reason I quit is because the job I was actually hired to do was becoming less and less of a priority in our “newsroom of the fewture.” On the day I quit, I was doing three jobs (sports editor, night editor and producer). I know there were several other people doing more than a couple of jobs. And I certainly wasn’t the only one having to multi-task, but I’m standing up for myself. It’s up to them to stand up for themselves.

I did the three jobs as well as I could. Now, keep in mind, at one point in time, those three jobs were all considered full-time jobs. But I was being asked to fit all three of those roles into one position. And I did it to the best of my ability. Did I miss things? Of course I did. And I would have missed things even if I had only one job to do, but having to do three jobs, something will fall through the cracks.

I was called out repeatedly by supervisors for forgetting to do certain aspects of my job. Aspects that I never really received any kind of training for and was just winging it on most nights. But I did it how I thought it was supposed to be done.

Anyway, long story short, my frustrations mounted and on that Friday afternoon I had a meeting with my supervisor. In that meeting, I was told there would be no debate, there would be no discussion, I was going to do my job (my three jobs) to the best of my ability as long as I was employed there (I took that as a threat, but that’s a blog for another day). I was also told (and this is the kicker) that my former job as sports content coach (sports editor in the old newsroom lingo) was no longer a full-time job and that it hadn’t been a full-time job for a long time.

Never mind the fact that the sports editor part of my job easily took 50-60 hours of my week to do. Never mind that so many things behind the scenes that used to be done by agate clerks or part-time employees were done by me. Never mind all of those things. I was told, point blank, that my job wasn’t a full-time job and that my supervisor SAVED ME by giving me other responsibilities.

By the way, on that Friday, I could feel her frustration and my frustration coming to a boil, so I asked that we push the meeting back to when the publisher was there so she could mediate.  I was told no and that I would do my job to the best of my ability…

Seeing the writing on the wall, I decided not to stick around. I’ve never been a quitter, but I’ve also never been fired and I’d rather quit than get fired.

So, fast-forward a month or so and my former job was posted on a website I follow for job openings. And guess what?

That old position of being a sports editor, the one that’s not even a full-time job> Well, that’s what the position entails. That’s exactly how it’s written up. It says some night editing responsibilities, which I was perfectly fine doing, because I know being the only manager working nights, it fit into the schedule. But it says nothing about producer, which was a pain in the ass to do while also trying to edit stories, manage staff, oversee the print product, etc.

So basically, it’s my old position, the one that I envisioned that position being, except I was told repeatedly (that Friday wasn’t the first time I heard my supervisor say it) that it wasn’t a full-time job.

So, what gives? It wasn’t a full-time job when I was there, but now it is.

I guess you can say I’m a little bitter. Had my supervisor and I had a normal conversation, one where she would actually listen, we may have been able to figure it out. But I guess that’s why 23 other people have left the PNJ under her watch. That my way or the highway way of thinking will come back to bite you. (side note, Quint Studer wrote some fantastic columns about bad leadership ruining a workplace, I’m assuming certain people never read them LOL)

But anyway, I’m moving on. I’m not going to let this space turn into a rant blog. I’m back to writing about Disney from now on.

Just to update people, I haven’t honestly looked for any work. I’ve been enjoying catching up on the things that I neglected for so long, like being a good husband and father.

I’m enjoying taking care of our youngest son during the day and getting the two older boys to and from school. I’ll be coaching Kaleb’s basketball team this winter and I’ve been able to do a lot of their extra curricular functions, all things that I usually missed because of the time I spent doing what was a part-time job after all.

I’m working on growing my Fairytale Journeys by Brady business. It’s not enough to pay the bills right now, but it’s giving us a little extra money to get by. Maybe one day it’ll be big enough to support us. But right now, I’m working on building it, so it you’ll spread the word about my services to anyone looking to book Disney, Universal or Carnival, that would be awesome.

I’ll be back later tonight or tomorrow to do an update on some happenings around the Disney resorts and parks.

Take care and remember to follow your instincts and “let your conscience be your guide.”

 

