Recently, my frustration got the best of me and I started a quasi-controversial thread on The Dis Boards. I had a couple of bad experiences with guests at our recent trip to Walt Disney World and needed to get them off my chest. I won’t spend valuable time and space rehashing it, but you can find the story here http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2945415.

The more I thought about it, the more I realize what I experienced was the exception rather than the norm at Walt Disney World. For the most part, everyone there is friendly. You will run into the occasional overzealous parent pushing her stroller through a crowd or the person pushing their way to the front of the line or even worse the dad that decides he’s going to stand right in front of your son and put his kid on his shoulder (even though you had been standing in that parade spot for 30 minutes).

But like I said, you tolerate those things because everyone else is there to have fun and be happy.

Which brings me to my topic today — chivalry. I hear people say it’s dead and that Generation Me doesn’t bother worrying about anybody else. Well, if you need examples to the contrary, take a trip to WDW. You’ll see men holding open doors for elderly women, kids and wheelchair-bound guests. You’ll see people hopping out of their comfortable seat on a bus to allow the pregnant lady to sit down while you hold on for dear life to the closest pole.

Of course, none of those examples make me as proud as what my 8-year old son Kaleb and 5-year old son Logan did this past trip. Kaleb repeatedly offered his seat up for guests. He also held the door open at every restaurant/attraction/gift shop/restroom/you name it. It’s almost to a fault, honestly, because we have to wait on him as he just stands there with a smile on his face letting everyone and their momma walk through the doors and past us. LOL

But it made me so proud to see him behave that way. It made me realize that what I do rubs off on him. He’s a reflection of me. I don’t want to paint the knight in shining armor picture here, but I was taught by my dad to hold doors open, give up seats on a crowded bus, just be courteous in general.

It’s good to know that those lessons are still being passed down to the next generation. And it’s our responsibility as parents to make sure they’re learning those lessons.

